The Department of Economics has a long history and has been providing effective education to fulfil required manpower for development of the nation. Intermediate Level was startedin1921 AD (1978 BS) and Bachelors level was commenced in 1924 (1981 BS). Asst. Prof. Sharmila Acharya. is the Head of the Department. Master’s degree in Economics has been running since 2019. Asst. Prof. Mukti Bahadur Khatri is the Coordinator of the master’s degree program. The list of senior Professors who sincerely served at the department as Heads in the past is: Name
1 Prof. Shambha Dev Pandey
2 Prof. Naresh Man Singh
3 Prof. Kasishwor Prasad Sharma Pandey
4 Assoc. Prof. Hamid Ansari
5 Assoc. Prof. Dhurba Dev Rai
6 Assoc. Prof. Bala Ram K.C.
7 Prof. Dr. Balkrishna Upadhyay
8 Assoc. Prof. Dr. Tej Bahadur K.C.
9 Assoc. Prof. Bala Ram K.C.


Sarmila Acharya

Assistant Professor

Department Head

Mukti Bahadur Khatri

Assistant Professor


M.A. program

Sabitri Acharaya Adhikari

Associate Professor

Tulashi Prasad Gautam

Assistant Professor

Yam Bahadur Karki

Assistant Professor

Bal Krishna Paudel

Assistant Professor


Ram Saran Dahal

Office Helper