Department of Geography was established in 1947 AD. After three years of commencement of I.A., the department also offered bachelor level course from 1950 AD.

First Head of department was Mr. Rabindra Nath Roy (1948 AD), who was followed by Prof. Jagat Bahadur Singh Budhathoki (1948 AD-1959 AD), Prof. Upendra Man Malla (1959 AD-1973 AD) and Mr. Nar Man Shrestha (1973 AD-1974/75 AD). Prof. Malla was also head of the Department of Geology at its beginning of establishment. Since 1974/75 AD to 2005 AD, Mr. Laxman K. Sharma and Mr. Ananda Man Shakya chaired the Department of Geography. Mr. Sharma and Shakya also served as Assistant Campus Chief. Mr. Mukunda Prasad Joshi became the Head of the department from 2005 AD to 2015 AD. At present, Dr. Kedar Dahal is the Head of the department of geography since 2015 AD.

The Department of Geography possesses highly qualified, competent and experienced faculty members. Some of the faculty members completed post-doctoral programs and are also actively has been participating time to time various national and international programs related to the subject since long time.

Some of the renowned personalities like Dr. Harka Gurung, Prof. Upendra Man Malla, Ratnasamser Janga Bahadur Rana, Lokendra Man Pradhan, Prof. Mangal Raj Joshi, Prof. Mangal Siddhi Manandhar, Prof. Bal Kumar K.C., Dr. Pitamber Sharma, Prof. Ram Kumar Pandey, Prof. Vidya Bir Singh Kansakar, Royal Highness Dhirendra Shah and King Dipendra Shah were students of the department.

Recently, the department has introduced Remote Sensing and Geographical Information System (RS/GIS) courses in Bachelor?s degree. The department also conducts field works to provide practical knowledge and field experience on various aspects of geography.


Dr. Kedar Dahal

Associate Professor


Dr. Kamala M. Pradhan


Rita Shrestha Bhoju

Associate Professor

Chandra Kanta Baral

Assistant Professor


Bir Krishna Maharjan

Senior Technical Assistant

Ram Bahadur Thapa

Office Helper