Department of Geology was established in 1967 AD. At the beginning, B.Sc. in Geology class were started at the departemnt then M.Sc. in Geology was commenced in 1975 AD. Presently, around 1000 students are studying at the department. The Department of Geology has been conducting fieldwork in Malekhu, Dhading District and Mashyam, Palpa District to train the students enrolled in Bachelor?s degree in Geology, respectively, for 17 days and 28 days according to the course implemented by Tribhuvan University. For the purpose of fieldworks, Department of Geology has built its own building in Malekhu and Mashyam. The department has been providing scholarships from the fund of Naoumura Education Foundation, Japan to outstanding student of B.Sc. in Geology since 2007 AD. More than 120 students have been honored by this scholarship. M.Sc. in Engineering Geology program is running in the department since 2016.

Former Heads


Assoc. Prof. Biswa Man Pradhan


Prof. Dr. Madhab Prasad Sharma (former Vice Chancellor, Tribhuvan University)


Prof. Dr. Bishal Nath Upreti (former dean, Institute of Science and Technology)


Prof. Dr. Vishnu Dangol


Prof. Dr. Santa Man Rai


Prof. Dr. Taranidhhi Bhattarai


Assoc. Prof. Madan Ratna Manandhar


Dr. Ananta Prasad Gajurel

Associate Professor


Dr. Prem Bahadur Thapa

Associate Professor

Co-Ordinator – M.Sc. Eng. Geology Program

Dr. Taranidhhi Bhattarai


Madan Ratna Manandhar

Associate Professor

Dr. Prakash Das Ulak

Associate Professor

Mukunda Raj Paudel

Associate Professor

Dr. Subodh Dhakal

Assistant Professor

Dr. Deepak Chamlagain

Assistant Professor

Dr. Ashok Sigdel

Assistant Professor

Bishnu Mani Dhungana

Senior Technical Assistant

Yogendra Manandhar

Technical Assistant

Santosh Mani Baskota

Office Helper