Academic Departments: Department of Geography

The history of geography as an academic field of the study at the college level in Nepal started with the establishment of the Department of Geography in Tri-Chandra College in 1947. Three years after its commencement of Intermediate Level, this Geography Department of Tri-Chandra College offered Bachelor Level course in 1950. Since then, Geography as a field of study became very popular in Nepal and has grown into a thriving area for graduate level teaching and learning. With the growing popularity, research activities in the field of Geography also increased over a period of time.

Initially, the Department of Geography of Tri-Chandra College was chaired or headed by Mr. Rabindra Nath Roy (1948) followed by Prof. Jagat Bahadur Singh Budhathoki (1948-1959), Prof. Upendra Man Malla (1959-1973) and Mr. Nar Man Shrestha (1973-1974/75). Prof. Malla also chaired the Department of Geology at the beginning of its establishment. Since 1974/75 to 2005, Mr. Laxman K. Sharma and Mr. Ananda Man Shakya also chaired and led the Department of Geography on rotational basis in different years. Mr. Sharma and Shakya also served as Assistant Campus Chief in different periods. Mr. Mukunda Prasad Joshi became the Chairman of the Department, Tri-Chandra College from 2005 to 2015. At present, Dr. Kedar Dahal is the Head of Department of Geography since 2015.

The Department of Geography at Tri-Chandra College possesses highly qualified, competent and experienced faculty members. It has one Professor, three Associate Professor and one Lecturer. Of the five faculty members, two of them already have had Ph. D. Degree. Some of the faculty members of the Department of Geography, Tri-Chandra College had completed post-doctoral programs too. The faculties of the Department of Geography have an international exposure, and have been participating in different national and international seminars and conferences as Resource Persons too. In this way, the Department has a very good faculty strength.

The Department produced several of the prominent figures who occupied different higher level key positions in Government of Nepal and Tribhuvan University such as late Dr. Harka Gurung, Prof. Upendra Man Malla, Ratnasamser Janga Bahadur Rana, late Lokendra Man Pradhan, late Prof. Mangal Raj Joshi, late Prof. Mangal Siddhi Manandhar, Prof. Bal Kumar KC, Dr. Pitamber Sharma, Prof. Ram Kumar Pandey, Prof. Vidya Bir Singh Kansakar, Royal Highness late Dhirendra Shah and Dipendra Shah and so on.

The Department is not only centrally located but is also equipped with a very good physical infrastructure like spacious classrooms, highly equipped laboratory and departmental library. Recently, the department has introduced Remote Sensing and Geographical Information System (RS/GIS) course for the third year Bachelor or under-graduate level students. Students willing to pursue higher education in Geography can apply for admission into the 3-year Bachelor Level Program in Geography. Similarly, the Department of Geography also conducts field studies on regular basis to provide practical knowledge and experience to the students on various aspects of Geography inside and outside the country.

Key Attractions of the Department

  • GIS and Remote Sensing
  • Experiences and Qualified Faculty Members
  • Field Work/Field Study, Research Methodology and Report Writing

Kedar Dahal Ph.D.

Kamala M. Pradhan, Postdoc

Mukunda P. Joshi

Rita Shrestha Bhoju

Chandra Kanta Baral