Academic Departments: Department of Chemistry

The department of Chemistry in Tri-Chandra College was established by conducting I. Sc. Classes in 1975 BS. For the first time M. Sc. in Chemistry was launched in 1966 AD in this campus which was later shifted to Tribhuvan University, Kirtipur premises. Due to the pressure of the ever increasing number of students to study.

M. Sc. in Chemistry, the Central Department of Chemistry could not accommodate all the students. The authorities of Tribhuvan University, decided to conduct this program in Tri-Chandra College. Dr. Shiva Ram Vaidya was nominated as coordinator of M. Sc. program on 13th Jestha 2065 BS in the period of Prof. Dr. Hari Pd. Parajuli. An Interaction program was held under the presence of Rector. Prof. Dr. Soorya Lal Amatya. The first orientation was held on 8th Ashad 2065 and classes started after a week with 68 students. Many attempts were made to developed infrastructure but not completed yet.Besides general labor atories, the department has established one research lab for Ph.D. research scholars with the help of Nepal Chemical Society in 2007 AD.

Former Heads of the Department :

  • Prof. Prasanna Man Singh Pradhan
  • Prof. Dhruba Man Singh Amatya
  • Prof. Surendra Singh K.C.
  • Prof. Dr. Shiva Pd. Dhaubadel
  • Prof. Krishna Pd. Pradhan
  • Prof. Shiva Man Joshi
  • Assoc. Prof. Madhusudhan Lal Raj Bhandari
  • Prof. Bimaleshwori Pradhan
  • Assoc. Prof. Prakash Chandra Lama
  • Prof. Shilakanta Lal Karna(Present)